AMailSender

Post files, torrents, links, and other media here.

Moderators: oakwhiz, spixi3, hxhl95, Thanatos

Forum rules
Respect copyright - Compress files - Don't steal bandwidth

AMailSender

Postby hxhl95 on February 13th, 2009, 5:27 pm

I've been working on this for quite a long time now, and right now I need some testing to be done so I can see if there are any glitches present in it that I need to fix.

Basically this is a program for sending anonymous emails. I believe it's pretty self-explanatory when you run it, I've added tooltips that explain what to enter in each textbox if you hover over it. If it isn't self-explanatory enough, please post here and explain why.

I must point out, however, that I might have compressed this proggy too far. Even the original background image for the window was 56kb, and now the whole program is 54kb. Which makes me a little queasy about the compatibility of this app with other systems... :lol:

Also, I realize that the app crashes when attempting to attach certain files, and am currently trying to fix that. So might I recommend you spam this thread saying OMFG THIS APP WON'T ATTACH .EXE FILES PROPERLY AND CRASHES AND GIVES ME AN ERROR TELLING ME THE EARTH IS GONNA BLOW UP!

If someone would test this on Vista that would also be highly appreciated :mrgreen: . Vista is allergic to many of my apps.

EDIT: :evil: WHY DOES IT HAVE A CHECKSUM OF ZERO?!

2nd edit: TrendMicro and eSafe detect this as "Suspicious file" and "PAK_Generic.001" respectively. I'm going to see if I can modify the packing a bit so they don't detect it as malware.
Attachments
AMailSender.zip
(55.63 KiB) Downloaded 87 times
hxhl95
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 7th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Re: AMailSender

Postby oakwhiz on February 13th, 2009, 6:35 pm

I like the way your app is styled. It looks like a modern software crack interface. I am curious as to how this program actually functions, i.e. does the From email have to be from the same domain as the SMTP server, can the From email field be fake. Also, does the SMTP server have to be an open relay? I was doing some email experiments a while back and kept getting Open Relay errors from Yahoo servers when running my own SMTP server, so I'm not sure how this works.

I got "Error: An error occurred while sending email. Make sure your SMTP server is valid" when doing a test.
oakwhiz
Admin
 
Posts: 67
Joined: April 8th, 2008, 12:02 pm
Gender: Male

Re: AMailSender

Postby hxhl95 on February 13th, 2009, 10:04 pm

Hmm..To answer your question about the From email, it can be anything. You can even put asdlfjaslkfj@aslkdfjalskfjdawotijaslktj ... asldgn.com if you want. Anything goes.

For the SMTP server, you have to use the one that your ISP uses...like I'm using shaw internet and my smtp server is shawmail.vc.shawcable.net.

Also, did you try the "find" button? Right next to the smtp textbox? I believe the find function should work...(hopefully :mrgreen: )
hxhl95
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 7th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Re: AMailSender

Postby oakwhiz on February 14th, 2009, 11:46 am

I tried the find button but nothing happened. There doesn't appear to be a tooltip for that button either, so I have no idea what it's supposed to do. How is it supposed to magically find your SMTP server? Because there is no mention of a mailserver entry in the DHCP stuff. I tried using the Minousoft mailserver and couldn't get a connection.

I'm also wondering about alternate SMTP ports, and EHLO support.

My best guess is that Shaw's mailserver is configured as an open relay by accident - it won't relay mail from the outside world without authentication, but to customer PCs within the *.shawcable.net domain(s) it acts as an open relay. Most mailservers probe incoming connections from other mailservers/clients to make sure they are not open relays.
oakwhiz
Admin
 
Posts: 67
Joined: April 8th, 2008, 12:02 pm
Gender: Male

Re: AMailSender

Postby hxhl95 on February 14th, 2009, 12:32 pm

oakwhiz wrote:My best guess is that Shaw's mailserver is configured as an open relay by accident - it won't relay mail from the outside world without authentication, but to customer PCs within the *.shawcable.net domain(s) it acts as an open relay. Most mailservers probe incoming connections from other mailservers/clients to make sure they are not open relays.


Precisely why you have to use your LOCAL smtp server.

The find button is supposed to use NetWkstaGetInfo to find your local domain (e.g. shawcable.net or something like that), then DnsQuery to perform an MX record lookup, thus obtaining your local SMTP server. It should give an error if it isn't working though... :o

BTW, I didn't bother putting tooltips for BUTTONS. Should I?

EDIT: You're right. The SMTP find function has an error somewhere in it..
hxhl95
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 7th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Re: AMailSender

Postby oakwhiz on February 14th, 2009, 12:44 pm

Tried again from shawmail.vc.shawcable.net to minousoft.com and it worked, surprisingly. Find button does not do anything.

Can the email headers be traced?
oakwhiz
Admin
 
Posts: 67
Joined: April 8th, 2008, 12:02 pm
Gender: Male

Re: AMailSender

Postby hxhl95 on February 14th, 2009, 12:44 pm

Maybe. I haven't tried yet.

Currently fixing the "Find" button.

EDIT: found the problem. I had a bad if/else statement.
hxhl95
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 7th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Re: AMailSender

Postby oakwhiz on February 14th, 2009, 12:51 pm

Strangely, the webmail program I'm using says there is an attachment in the fake message... Here's the body. My email address has been changed for spam purposes.

Edit: Nevermind... the attachment is the html format of the message.

Code: Select all
Return-path: <fake@example.com>
Envelope-to: CHANGEDFORSPAM@minousoft.com
Delivery-date: Sat, 14 Feb 2009 12:42:04 -0700
Received: from idcmail-mo1so.shaw.ca ([24.71.223.10])
   by host172.hostmonster.com with esmtp (Exim 4.69)
   (envelope-from <fake@example.com>)
   id 1LYQOq-0005iA-6a
   for CHANGEDFORSPAM@minousoft.com; Sat, 14 Feb 2009 12:42:04 -0700
Message-Id: <7auabm$2g6mgl@pd3mo1so-svcs.prod.shaw.ca>
Received: from pd4ml1so-ssvc.prod.shaw.ca ([10.0.141.141])
  by pd3mo1so-svcs.prod.shaw.ca with ESMTP; 14 Feb 2009 12:42:03 -0700
X-Cloudmark-SP-Filtered: true
X-Cloudmark-SP-Result: v=1.0 c=0 a=vYKOeBroumxQ77G-GTQA:9 a=iu4NGN_CEo5tZ-l8ZalA719QWogA:4
Received: from s010600212978d645.vc.shawcable.net (HELO shawmail.vc.shawcable.net) ([24.83.21.145])
  by pd4ml1so-dmz.prod.shaw.ca with SMTP; 14 Feb 2009 12:42:02 -0700
DATE: Sat, 14 Feb 2009 19:42:05 PM
FROM: "Fake Name" <fake@example.com>
To: Fake 2 <CHANGEDFORSPAM@minousoft.com>
Cc:
Subject: Fake subject
X-Mailer: fake@example.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: multipart/mixed; boundary="0000000002230291k492__V"; charset=US-ASCII
X-user: ::::24.71.223.10:host172.hostmonster.com::::::

--0000000002230291k492__V
Content-Type: text/html; charset=US-ASCII
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7-bit
Content-Disposition: inline

Fake body

--0000000002230291k492__V--
oakwhiz
Admin
 
Posts: 67
Joined: April 8th, 2008, 12:02 pm
Gender: Male

Re: AMailSender

Postby hxhl95 on February 14th, 2009, 1:07 pm

:twisted: Not bad.

I seem to be having trouble obtaining a local hostname/domain name...(e.g. shawcable.net) to use DnsQuery on...Wonder why.
hxhl95
Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: September 7th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Re: AMailSender

Postby oakwhiz on February 14th, 2009, 1:14 pm

If you're on a router, the PCs tend to think that they are part of the router's network more than the modem's network. When my PC is connected to the modem directly, I seem to remember that ipconfig displayed my modem's domain name, which always looks like S************d***.vc.shawcable.net but when I am behind my router, ipconfig displays:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix: vc.shawcable.net
IP Address: 192.168.1.107

EDIT: Also, I don't think all ISPs give customers domains. Not sure though.
oakwhiz
Admin
 
Posts: 67
Joined: April 8th, 2008, 12:02 pm
Gender: Male

Next

Return to Filesharing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron